Can a shift be automatically marked as closed?

Agencies can choose from a set of rules that determine when a shift should be automatically marked as closed.

Following options are available:

  • Never mark shifts as completed automatically
  • When all Talents have completed their job
  • When all recaps are approved (fallbacks to ‘When all Talents have completed their job’ if no recaps exist).

Based on the selected rule, the shift will either stay Open or auto-change to Closed once the condition is fully met. Let’s see how this works.

Workflow Configurations

Log into the portal and select System Settings. On the system settings page, click Workflow Configurations.

Find the option “When should a Shift be automatically marked as Closed?”.

Open the dropdown, you will see these three options:

  • Never mark Shifts as completed automatically
  • When all Talents have completed their job

When all recaps are approved (or Talents completed job if no recaps exist)

Never Mark Shifts as Completed Automatically

When this option is selected, the status of the shift is never marked as closed in any case. Not even when all Talent in a shift have completed their shift. 

Lets see an example.

Go back to the Work → Shifts.

On the shifts page, click Add Shift → Quick Create.

In the Create Shift modal, enter detail and click Save. 

Set the Quantity to 1. This means that one Talent is required to work on this shift.

Open the Talent tab inside the shift and click Add Talent.

Select available Talent from the selection modal, and the Talent now appears in the list.

Open the action dropdown for the Talent and click Move Talent.

In the Move Talents modal, set the new status to Talent Committed and click Save.

When the Talent committed to a shift equals the quantity of the shift, the stage of the shift will be updated to ‘Booked’. In this example, shift quantity is 1 and one Talent is committed to the shift. Therefore, the status has changed to ‘Booked’.

After the Talent completes their job, change the status from Talent Committed to Job Complete.

Return to the shift detail page and the stage of the shift does not change to closed, it is still showing as Booked.

When All Talents have Completed their Job

This rule ensures that the status of the shift should be updated to ‘closed’ when all the Talent assigned to the shift have completed the job. The count of the Talent should be equal to the quantity of the shift.

Go to System Settings → Workflow Configurations. 

Select “When all Talents have completed their job”, then click Save.

Go back to Work → Shifts, and click Add Shift to create a shift. Please note that shift Quantity is 1.

You’ll be taken to the Shift Detail page, the current stage is showing as Open.

Open the Talent tab inside the shift and click Add Talent.

Select available Talent from the selection modal, and the Talent now appears in the list.

Open the action dropdown for the Talent and click Move Talent.

In the Move Talent modal, set the new status to Talent Committed and click Save.

Shift quantity is 1 and one Talent is committed to the shift. Therefore, the status has changed to ‘Booked’.

After the Talent completes their job, change the status from Talent Committed to Job Complete.

Return to the Shift Detail page, and you’ll see the stage of the shift updated to Closed. In this example, the shift quantity is 1, and one talent has completed the job. As a result, the shift assignment status changes to Job Complete. According to the selected rule, the overall shift status is updated to Closed.

When All Recaps are Approved (or Talents Completed if No Recaps Exist)

This rule states that a shift should only be marked as ‘Closed’ when all the recaps linked with the shifts are approved. 

For reference, recap templates are linked with shifts and each committed Talent has to submit these recaps when they are working on the shifts. Later on these recaps are reviewed by the agency and marked as approved.

Let’s look at an example.
Go to System Settings → Workflow Configurations. 

Select “When all recaps are approved (or Talents completed if no recaps exist)” and click Save.

Go back to Work → Shifts, then click Add Shift → Quick Create.

In the Create Shift modal, enter detail and click Save.

You’ll be taken to the Shift Detail page, the current stage is showing as Open.

Open the Recap Templates section for this shift.

Click Set Recap Template in the modal, enter the template name, pick the checkpoint(s) and then click Save.

Select available Talent from the selection modal, and the Talent now appears in the list.

Open the action dropdown for the Talent and click Move Talent.

In the Move Talent modal, set the new status to Talent Committed and click Save.

Open the Recaps tab inside the shift, initially it will be empty. The recap draft is generated automatically one minute before the shift starts. 

In our example, shift start time is 5:45 AM and recap draft will be generated at 5:44 AM.

Select the recap, open the action dropdown and click Approve to approve the recap.

After approving recap(s) for the shift, the stage of the shift will automatically be marked as Closed. 

In our example, only one recap is linked, therefore, shift is marked as closed.

Special Case

In case, if no recap template is added to the shift and the Talent has completed their job, the shift status should automatically be updated to ‘Closed’.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *